Davis Stampede – 1/2 marathon

Davis Stampede – 1/2 marathon

This was my 3rd 1/2 marathon and my 2nd recent one.  I wanted to train hard and find out what I could do.  I had trained for my previous 1/2 marathon, but I didn’t feel like my body was familiar with the mileage.  Up until this point, I could run 6 miles without any problems.  I felt like I could increase my base with proper training.

I slowly increased my mileage and worked hard for a month or two. In some of the training plans that I have used in the past, there is only one 10 mile run before the 1/2 marathon.  I didn’t feel that this was enough.  With more than a month to go, I planned to run four 10 milers before race day.

I ran my long runs with a friend who was quite a bit faster than I was.  This was good for me because it pushed me.  But, perhaps it pushed me too much.

The day of the race came and I felt confident that I could run the 13.1 miles.  I just wasn’t sure if I could PR.

Here is a picture of me coming in the home stretch.  I ended up with a PR; I beat my previous time by almost 5 mins.  The hard work paid off!

Leave a Reply

