Never say Never!

In 2009, a friend asked me if I was going to run CIM.  My response was, “I like running, but I’m not that crazy.”

Ha!  One year later, I ran CIM.

In my race report from CIM 2010, I clearly state that running a marathon was not for me.

I’d like to announce to the world that marathoning isn’t for me! At least that is how I’m feeling right now.”

Yet, a little over a year later I registered for CIM 2012 as my second marathon.

Perhaps I’m a glutton for punishment.  Perhaps I feel like there is unfinished business (see my lengthy race report from CIM 2010).   Or perhaps I simply like challenges.  This time around, training went well for the most part and I’m looking forward to Sunday’s marathon.

What I have learned about myself over the past 3 years is that I enjoy challenges.  I enjoy pushing my body and finding the limit.  As T.S. Eliot says, “Only those who risk going too far can possibly find out how far they can go.”

I also learned that I can do anything I want to.  I just have to put my mind to it and I will accomplish it.  Along with this, I now accept the fact that I am persistent.  And, with my running, I won’t give up!  However, I had to learn to listen to my body and to adjust my training when “issues” come up.  I didn’t do so well with this lesson in 2010.  This year, I did listen.  It was a huge step for me and it paid off. Since I stopped running, rested, adjusted training, and sought PT help when my IT Band started giving me trouble, I was able to recover quickly.

I’ve definitely learned to never say never!  I will continue to dream big and challenge myself.

I’m planning my goals for 2013.  Do you have your race/events calendar ready?  Just remember……….”Don’t worry about failure. Worry about the chances you miss when you don’t even try.” (Another one of my favorite quotes.)

3 thoughts on “Never say Never!

Leave a Reply

