Yoga is calling my name!

I’m on a mission (watch out!)……..I am determined to find a way to incorporate yoga into my life.  This is one of my 2013 exercise goals.  However, it’s not so easy.  I’m not the most coordinated person.  But, I’m willing to try and I don’t even care if you laugh at me, because I’ll be the first to laugh when I’m trying a new pose and just can’t get it.  There are times where I feel more like a pretzel, all twisted up, than a flexible person.  I’m hoping this feeling will go away soon.  And, if you know, you probably know that I will practice something until I can do it.  Yeah, I’m persistent.

yoga poseHere’s a pose that I can actually do.

I set the goal to start yoga for a few reason.  I have an irritating, dull pain that just doesn’t seem to go away.  It isn’t an injury and it doesn’t prevent me from running.  But, I can feel it and I’d like to find a way to make it disappear.  I’ve also been told that in general, my body isn’t very flexible, especially my hamstrings.  Even though I stretch 5 out of 7 days and have an awesome routine from my PT (Thanks, Mike Berretta).  The last reason I decided to try yoga is because I feel like my soul needs it.  I know that we all have a lot to juggle, but I am feeling the need for something to help me relax.  I’m hoping that yoga will help me improve in all of these areas.

About a year ago, I came across an advertisement for a book on yoga.  However, it was better than just a book about yoga.  It was especially for runners!  I tore out the ad and placed it in a pile of things to get to one day.  This Christmas I finally purchased the book as a gift to myself.

yoga book pic

A few weeks after I ran a marathon, I was invited to go to a yoga class with a friend who is pretty much a yoga pro.  Sure, I’m up for trying new things.  It was a great class.  The room was heated which felt wonderful on a cold, December day.  Fortunately, the class was small.  This allowed the teacher to go slowly which I desperately needed since I am a newbie.  Even though we went slowly from pose to pose, I felt like the teacher was speaking a different language.  Since I do not know all of the yoga poses, or even the most common ones, I definitely needed all the visuals and physical prompting I could get.

I am going to try another class next week at a different place and then I’ll make my decision on where to go.  Along with a class once a week, I have found a few routines from the book that help me stretch tight areas.  I will continue to focus on these routines at home a few times a week.

more yoga poses

After becoming interested in yoga, I came across a few different links that I wanted to share with you.  I don’t know if they are any good, but it’s worth taking a look if you are looking for some poses to help you with running.

http://www.runnersworld.com/stretching/flexible-routine

http://www.sparkpeople.com/resource/fitness_articles.asp?id=1578

http://www.active.com/fitness/Articles/4-Yoga-Poses-for-Runners

http://www.active.com/mindandbody/articles/Yoga-for-Runners–3-Poses-You-Should-Practice

http://www.active.com/running/Articles/6-Yoga-Poses-to-Improve-Your-Running

I’m excited to learn something new.  I also know that during this next year I will feel some changes in my body.  Perhaps I’ll become more flexible or more relaxed.  Perhaps I’ll become a stronger and faster runner.  Or just maybe, I’ll improve in all these areas! 

2 thoughts on “Yoga is calling my name!

  1. I wanted to recommend Leap yoga in Folsom. It’s pretty awesome. I have done yoga on and off for 2 years now. It really is a killer workout and you start to crave the stretches. Let me know where you end up going! I just bought a Groupon for The Daily Method which is also a method of stretching that might be worth a shot for ya!! 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Thanks, Gabby. I’ll let you know what I decide.
    Let me know how The Dailey Method goes. Why did they spell Dailey with an “e?” Is it someone’s name?

Leave a Reply

