The BUILD Continues………

The build continues…….But where am I going with this?

I just completed week 16 of training.  I was reviewing my training log to make sure everything is going as I hoped.  I could definitely see my pattern through the weeks of  build, build, rest and recovery, build, build, rest and recovery.

2013 week 1 - 16 mileage graph

However, the build seems to be going slower than previous years.  I began wondering, “How come my weekly mileage is only 26 miles?  It seems like it’s taking forever to get to the 30 miles a week point.”  I like getting to the point of running 30+ miles a week simply because I love the feeling of running that mileage.  My body doesn’t complain and I feel like I have to put in some effort to get that point.

I was stuck on the slow build.  So, I gave it some more thought.  There are 2 things to take into consideration.

  1. I need to remember that I run fewer miles on the trail than on the road.  Up until this point, my runs have been based on minutes, not miles.
  2. I wanted to compare last year’s numbers to this year’s.  It turns out that I’m only a mile off of last year’s mileage at this point of training.

Bottom line……I need to be content with my progress.

I realized a few more things and came up with some questions (please comment if you can help me out)…….

I noticed that I never planned an A RACE.  I didn’t plan one since this is more of a, “take it easy,” year.  Do you always have to have an A RACE?

I also realized that I don’t really know when I’m supposed to peak?  Suggestions????  Without a designated A race, which usually creates a natural time to peak, will I peak? I’d love someone to chime in and tell me.  Otherwise, I’ll be researching this a bit more.

One thing I do know is that I’m getting ready to race again next weekend……yippee!

For you locals, it’s not too late to register:

http://www.insidetrail.com/ai1ec_event/folsom-lake-trail-run/

I’m running the 10k.  I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

