A New Challenge……….

2013-06 running-challengeA new month is here and I’m ready for a new challenge.  I’m ready to take the next step in trail running (remember that I started trail running in January).  I’ll be increasing from the 10k distance to the half marathon distance.  My first race will be up in beautiful Tahoe in just 3 weeks!  Wanna join me?  I signed up for the Burton Creek ½ Marathon:

http://www.tahoetrailrunning.com/trail-runs/burton-creek-trail-run/

Stepping it up to the half marathon distance has been the plan all along.  I just wasn’t sure if I’d be ready.  I’m happy to say that I’ve managed to increase my mileage up to just about 30 miles a week.  I’ll still increase it a bit more before the next half, but for now it’s a decent start.  I’m also comfortable running 10 – 12 miles on the trail.  These were two goals I wanted to accomplish before the first half marathon.  So, I think I’m ready!

Because this first ½ marathon is at altitude, I’ll need to approach it a bit differently.  I’ll be going with a different attitude than my usual competitive one (or at least that’s what I’m telling myself).  I’d like the experience of running a trail half marathon on a supported course (snacks and water provided!) without putting pressure on myself.  In other words, I’d like to go out there and have fun.  Yep, I said it…..”fun.”    Don’t get me wrong, I plan on running it hard, but I won’t expect miracles since I haven’t done any altitude training.  Fortunately, this is only the first out of 3 or 4 half marathons.  There’s still a lot of time to improve.

2013-06 challenge

2 thoughts on “A New Challenge……….

  1. Sounds like a little altitude training is in your future! Come out and run Jenkenson Lake with me soon! I will believe “fun” when I see it! 🙂

    • Hi Alisyn,
      I’m looking at the calendar and I don’t see a weekend free before the race……:( However, I’d still love to come out and run with you and preview the course for Run on the Sly. I’ll email you some dates and we can see if we can make it work.

Leave a Reply

