It’s Heating up Out There!

Here in the Sacramento area, it’s starting to heat up.  The last two weekends have been pretty warm.  This past Saturday, it was a scorching 106 degrees!  However, just because it’s warm it doesn’t mean that I’m not going to run.  It just means I need to be smart about it.

As a road runner, I’m used to planning my route around water sources if need be.  And, I usually don’t even carry water for anything fewer than 8 miles.  I’m not sure I’d recommend this, but I’ve just gotten used to it.  Unfortunately, trail running doesn’t always offer the luxury of water fountains.  Now as a trail runner, I will have to change my thinking and really plan for the heat.

The other weekend I went for a 12 mile run with my running group.  I was carrying 20 oz of water on my waist belt and I thought this was going to be enough for the whole run.  Ha!  Half way into the run I was almost through all of my water.  I wasn’t the only one who wasn’t prepared for the change in the temperature.  Up until then, the temperature hadn’t been too warm when I ran, somewhere in the 70’s, maybe low 80’s by the time I finished.  But, on this day, it was in the 80’s when we started.

20130611_084616

We ended up being ok.  Thankfully, we were on some trails by the familiar American River Bike Trail and so we knew where we could replenish our water supply.  I have to admit, I was a little nervous out on the trail with the sun beating down on us and all of us out of water.  It wasn’t a good feeling and I definitely learned a lesson from that run.

The next weekend was going to be even warmer.  I wanted to be prepared for the run this time.  I knew that my waist belt would not allow me to carry enough water.  So, I decided that I needed to carry my water in a backpack.  I’ve never worn one of these on a run.  This would be a first.  The run was only a 10 mile run so I decided to carry 40 oz of water.  I figured if I didn’t like the backpack, I could survive 10 miles.

20130611_085027

After the previous weekend, I wanted to make sure I was well hydrated.  On the way to the run, I drank about 8 oz.  It was already in the high 70’s when we started.  During the run, I continued to take small sips.  I’m used to seeing how much water I have left.  However, with the backpack, I had to use the sloshing and weight of the pack to determine how much water I had drank.  It was a hot run!  By the time we finished, it was already in the 90’s.

I was glad I had packed a cooler with additional water in it for after the run.

When I got home, I measured how much water I had left in the pack.  Guesses?????  I had very little left, ~4 oz.  For now, this pack will do.  But, I’m thinking I will need a bigger pack for longer runs in the future.  This pack also lacks front pockets to hold gels.  I ended up wearing my SPIBELT in addition to the backpack.

Don’t let the heat stop you.  Just make sure you are prepared for it!

Do you run with a backpack?  Which one do you use?

Here are some articles about proper hydration:

“Drink at least 8 oz. of water every one to two hours on your run. Wear a hydration pack or fuel belt that allows you to carry water. Plan your routes around water fountains or stores where you can refill your water mid-run,” and more.

This was taken from the article, “8 Tips for Running in Hot Weather.”

http://beta.active.com/running/Articles/8-Tips-for-Running-in-Hot-Weather

 

Additional sites:

http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/hydrationandfluid/qt/How-Much-Water-Should-You-Drink.htm

http://www.webmd.com/fitness-exercise/features/water-for-exercise-fitness

2 thoughts on “It’s Heating up Out There!

  1. Yeah. I’m not enjoying hiking in the heat at all. I need to figure out sone sort of backpack bc I have to bring water and a sweat rag. (And car keys and iPhone). Total pain.

    In the winter I didn’t bring water or a sweat rag.

    Also wearing the weight vest has been more challenging. I had to take some weight out of it.

    Love reading your blog!!!

    Xoxo

    Sent from my iPhone Please ignore mistaken autocorrects.

Leave a Reply

