My 5 Favorite Snacks

I’ve always been one to eat a snack between meals, but when I’m training hard, my snacks become even more important.  I’m constantly thinking about how I’m going to fuel my body.  I try to get as much protein and carbohydrates as I can with healthy choices.  I try to keep everything organic and if anything comes out of a package, I try to make sure there are very few ingredients.

Snacks have become an important part of my food intake since I eat about 3 snacks a day.  If I am expecting my body to perform well while running, then I need to give it the proper fuel.

The choices are endless, but here are 5 of my favorite, always on hand, healthy snacks:

 Homemade Granola (berries on top are a plus!) The recipe can be found here:  http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2010/04/04/recipe-granola-bars-cereal/

20130925_133644

An organic cheese with a piece of fruit

20130925_133102

20130926_123844

 Apple slices  or a banana and peanut butter

20130925_133305 Almonds and walnuts with any type of berry
20130925_133351 Larabar (peanut butter cookie)

20130926_135140

Do you want more ideas?  Lisa from 100 days of Real Food (http://www.100daysofrealfood.com/2012/07/31/85-snacks-for-kids-and-adults/ ) has compiled a list of 85 healthy snacks.  Now you don’t have any reasons not to find a healthy snack to fuel your body!

What are your favorite healthy snacks?

How many snacks a day do you eat?

4 thoughts on “My 5 Favorite Snacks

    • I would, but since I have eggs for breakfast, I don’t. Eggs are a great source of protein. Do you like hummus? Hummus and veggies almost made the list. I like homemade hummus or Trader Joe’s organic hummus.

Leave a Reply

