Rest and Recovery Project

Since I ran my race a week and a half ago, I’ve been on rest and recovery.  This means a few things.  For now, I’ll tell ya that it means that my mileage is super low.  But, that doesn’t mean that I’m sitting around with nothing to do.  I know myself better than that.  I know that I need to have a project to work on.

This post has little to do with running, but I thought you may be interested in what I do when I don’t run.

This time around,  I kind of turned my project it into a family project.  I had good intentions, it’s just that I’m not super comfortable around power tools, and I’m not the strongest person around.  Therefore, I needed to recruit some help.

With my extra time, I decided to build a new chicken coop.  Our current one needed to be replaced for several reasons and I also wanted to improve my wood working skills and comfort level with some basic power tools.

After planning on paper, we were off to Home Depot for wood.

20131109_141157Like I said, this turned into a family project.  So, after my husband cut the wood that I had measured, I predrilled the wood.  Eventually, I even cut some of the wood.

20131109_154100

My husband and our son screwed the pieces together.  Originally, I was going to do this, but I couldn’t screw in a 3 1/2″ screw for the life of me (talk about being frustrated).

20131109_160359

Then our daughter wanted to help out, too!  She was good at predrilling just like me.

20131109_145806

The frame was coming together nicely.  By the end of Saturday, we had the main frame completed.  I looked at it and it was too wide!  I decided it was better to fix it now than when it was completed.

Sunday morning, I took apart four boards, not too much, for my husband to recut.

Over the next two days, we worked together (mainly my husband and I).  I had to go back out for more supplies and returned to a completed frame.

20131110_160055

We decided it was time to move it to it’s new location before it got too heavy.  A nice neighbor came to help my husband move it.

Once it was in it’s new location, I predrilled the bottom boards and decided to try to screw them down since we were using smaller screws.  This time I was successful!

20131111_161644

I continued on my roll and predrilled and screwed down the side wall of the coop.

20131111_163652

Yep!  This is how I’ve been spending my extra time while giving my running muscles a break.

What do you do on rest and recovery?

One thought on “Rest and Recovery Project

  1. Pingback: Another Week of Rest and Recovery | EDH Runner

Leave a Reply

