It’s time to reflect on 2013

It’s time to reflect on 2013.  Usually I look at the races and my times and my age group winnings.  This time, as I’m reflecting on the year, I’m not focusing on those details.  I’m more interested in what I learned about myself as a runner.

In 2013, I made a big changeI switched from road running to trail running.  I have learned so many trails, yet I have so many more to learn.  I have enjoyed every single trail mile that I have run.  I may have been challenged more on the trails than I ever imagined.  Ok, I may have sworn at a hill or two, and definitely when I fell.   But, I am so glad I made the switch!

2013-04-18 spring pic 2

One of my favorite pics from trail running.  Yes, I’ve shared it before.

I started off the year thinking that I would run and train for shorter events, not exceeding the half marathon distance.  But, once I hit that distance, something urged me to continue on.  With only 2 marathons, ever, under my belt, I found the desire to be an ultramarathoner.  I learned that even though it doesn’t come easy, I enjoy endurance events.

This year, I learned that I don’t need to always chase a PR.  At the end of 2012, I wanted a break from trying to run a PR at every race.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m very competitive and I do enjoy working on my speed.  But, I needed a break, both physically and mentally.  I thought that switching things up in 2013 would help me refocus and lose some of my competitiveness.

What I learned is that I’m going to be competitive in any type of racing.  However, with trail running, I’m not so concerned about my time.  This sounds trivial, but for me, that’s a huge relief.

I was also reminded of how much fun it is to train with a group of runners.  Joining the Folsom Trail Runners group was one of the best decisions I made in 2013.  There are so many nice people and great runners in this group.  For me, running and socializing is a perfect mix!

2013 also reinforced that running helps me through all types of emotions.  Running gives me the time to sort things out in my head.  It allows me to work out my frustrations; it helps me feel better in difficult times.  Running has been a big part of my life for many years and I always feel better after a run.

The last thing I learned about myself is that I am the happiest when I have a personal challenge.  Even though life provides several challenges in general, I need something to call my own.  Running gives me the opportunity to set my own goals and work on something that I’m passionate about.  Running makes me a better person!

Even though I’m not fixated on my times as much as I used to be, there’s no denying that I’m still a numbers gal.  So, here’s to 2013.  It was a good year!  My total running mileage was 1072.13 and my total biking mileage (with tomorrow’s ride) was 833.20.

2013 total mileage

Even though I ran about 30 miles less than in 2012, I don’t feel anywhere as tired.  My cycling mileage was about half of the previous year.  This allowed more time to run those miles.  So, was it a restful year?  Well, mentally it was.  Physically, I’m not sure.

What did you learn about yourself and running in 2013?

Do you keep track of your mileage from year to year?

Amendment…….

I ended up running on 12/31/13 changing my total mileage for 2013 to the following:

Bike – 821.20

Run – 1076.81

6 thoughts on “It’s time to reflect on 2013

    • Awesome! I love the trails. I loved them back when I ran cross country in high school, too. Btw, that was many moons ago! Thanks for stopping by.

  1. Hi Jen
    Nice post. You kick butt out there on the trails!
    I gotta agree with you on joining Folsom Trail Runners…one of my best decisions of 2013 as well!

Leave a Reply

