Exploring a New Trail

1394729761860

During the last few months, I haven’t had the chance to go out exploring any new trails.  It seems that each time I’ve gone for a run I’ve been on a mission; each run has had a purpose with a required mileage.

Today, I met up with a few friends for a run. One of them led us on a trail that I had never run before.  It was just what I needed. I really enjoy learning new trails, especially when they are local ones. I’ve seen parts of this trail from my car several times, but never knew where it started or where it actually went.

The other 2 friends turned around earlier than we wanted to, so Beth and I continued on.  We ran a little less than 4 miles before we ran out of trail and headed back.

20140313_102807

Along this trail there is a hill that I have seen from my car.  I thought it might be good for hill repeats.  It turns out to be way too steep!  To the right of that hill there is another possibility.  I’ll have to give it a try the next time I’m out there.

2014-03-14 trail run

2014-03-13 Trail run (from Promontory Park) elevation

You can see from the elevation chart that there are some good rollers.  The was a hill right at the start of the trail and then one other that were good climbs.  Other than that, it was a nice trail.  It is exposed, so I wouldn’t want to run it on a hot summer day.

2014-03-13 Trail run (from Promontory Park) map

Here is a map of where the trail is, just in case you’d like to go out exploring.

Once we were back, Beth showed me another trail.  This time we ran up Beatty Dr. a short distance and turned left onto a trail.  This beginning of this trail was tree covered.  It took us to the top of a ridge.  Along the way, we passed a flock of wild turkeys.  I never get tired of  seeing the male turkeys fan their feathers trying to win over the female turkeys.

Once we got to the top, the trail continued behind some homes and down through an undeveloped area.  We ran to the end of the trail (El Dorado Hills Blvd.) and turned around.  By the time we got back to our cars, we had completed 10 miles.

I appreciate it when someone takes the time to show me a new trail.  Thank you, Beth!  I feel so fortunate that there are several local trails in El Dorado Hills.  I could easily spend the day out on the trails!

Do you prefer exploring or do you run the same trails over and over?

3 thoughts on “Exploring a New Trail

Leave a Reply

