Phase 4……Rest and Recovery

After each big event (A race), I start the last phase of my training cycle, rest and recovery. This phase is meant to give my body and mind some much deserved rest and recovery.

After running hard for several weeks, my body needs a break and time to repair the muscles. This way in a few weeks, I can start demanding a little more from it. During this phase of reset and recovery, I usually cycle and may go on a few small runs. No workout is demanding and each workout is less than an hour.

My mind also needs a rest from following a training plan (even though I love my training plans). It’s a nice feeling to know that I don’t have to get a certain workout completed. I don’t have to pay attention to a specific type of running, time nor mileage. I can just run.

Normally, I have a project planned to help me stay busy since I’m not running as much. Unfortunately, I don’t have a project nor am I able to run at all. Needless to say, I’m a little on edge.

After my 50k run, I noticed that I was physically exhausted for a few days. I basically did nothing for a few days and let my body rest. This isn’t easy for me to do as I love to workout. However, I knew that I needed to listen to my body.

In addition, I am dealing with a bad case of poison oak and a cranky ankle. Both of these issues have caused me to rest for a few extra days which really isn’t the end of the world. And, I did get a few workouts in on the bike. So, I really shouldn’t complain.

I’m happy to say, that after my trial run yesterday morning, I am feeling well enough to start my reverse taper. I will use the last 2 weeks of my previous training plan to help me keep my mileage low in order to rest and recover. While the mileage is low, this phase will help me gently get ready for my next training plan.

Do you follow the periodiaztion phases?
Do you love/dislike the Rest and Recovery phase?
How do you get through Rest and Recovery?

One thought on “Phase 4……Rest and Recovery

  1. I also get so tired after a big race, but I’m glad you’re feeling better! I have to take breaks from structured training too, so I can exercise how I want. I think it’s really important!

Leave a Reply

